2018-2019 Gulf Coast Executive Committee Nominees

Posted: Mar 11, 2018

The following candidates are running uncontested for elected Gulf Coast Chapter of ASSE Executive Committee positions for the chapter year of 2018-2019. In accordance with our Chapter bylaws Article VI Section 6), we will take a vote at our monthly General Chapter meeting in May.

Meeting Information

Date: Thursday May 3rd

Time: 11:30am-1:00pm

Place: TBD

Only members who are currently in good standing will be allowed to vote.  Results will be announced at our Awards and Honors Ceremony on June 1st. In the event we do not have quorum at our General Chapter meeting we will email an electronic ballot to all Gulf Coast Chapter members in good standing.

Please contact William Gonzales at William.gonzales@brockgroup.com if you have any questions about the election process.

Nominee for President / Delegate #1 – Tabitha Laser

Tabitha is the Health and Safety Global Client Solutions Leader for Jacobs, and has more than 23 years of operations and consulting leadership experience.  She earned Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees from the University of Central Missouri, and is a Certified Safety Professional.  Tabitha is currently serving as the Gulf Coast Chapter President and in addition has also served as Gulf Coast Chapter Energy Corridor Section Chair, ASSE CFL Ag Branch Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary, ASSE St. Louis Chapter Membership Chair, and ASSE National Ag Practice Specialty Vice Chair.

Nominee for Sr. Vice President of Communications / Delegate #2 – Jovan Lora

Jovan Lora is a Sr. EHS Specialist at BASF. In this capacity, his responsibilities include leading and implementing the EHS programs in area of responsibility within a large manufacturing site. Jovan has been in the EHS field for over 15 years, with over four years in the Chemical Manufacturing Industry. He earned a B.S. in Occupational Safety and Health from Columbia Southern University, and a Master of Engineering (MEng.) in Advanced Safety Engineering and Management from the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). He is a Board-Certified Safety Professional (CSP) and an Occupational Safety and Health Technologist (OHST). Jovan joined the ASSE in 2009 and has served on the Executive Committee in a variety of roles, including Treasurer and Vice President for the West Florida Chapter of the ASSE, and as Program Chair, VP of Member Services and is the incumbent ASSE Gulf Coast Chapter SVP of Communications.

Nominee for Vice President of Member Services / Delegate #3 – Dustin Hickey

Dustin L. Hickey, CSP, ASP, is Division Safety Manager of Texas Operations for Cajun Constructors, LLC, one of the nation’s leading industrial general contractors. Dustin is a Certified Safety Professional (CSP) and holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Occupational Safety & Health. Dustin has successful managed safety programs for large projects with global clients including but not limited to ExxonMobil, LyondellBasell, Dow Chemical, Shell, Flint Hills, Celanese, British Petroleum (BP), Enterprise Products, Tenaris, BASF Chemical, Formosa Plastics, Praxair, Braskem, Ineos, Marathon Petroleum, and Chevron Phillips.

Nominee for Secretary/ Delegate #4 – Krystle Hodge, CSP

Krystle Hodge is a HSE Coordinator for Southwestern Energy in Houston, Texas. She received her Master of Public Health degree from The University of Texas School of Public Health and Bachelors in Biology from University of Houston-Main Campus, and is a recently Certified Safety Professional (CSP). Krystle joined ASSE in 2014 and has served on the Executive Committee as the Newsletter Chair and most recently the Secretary.  She also is the current Content Coordinator for ASSE Blacks in Safety Engineering (BISE) and a member of ASSE Women in Safety Engineering (WISE).

Treasurer/ Delegate #5 – James Charo (No election – 2 year term)

James has over 18 years specialized experience in the Health, Safety, Environment field. His experience includes both foreign and domestic assignments working for industry leading organizations. James has served on the ASSE Gulf Coast Chapter Executive Committee for the past 3 years as Secretary and Treasurer (2 year term).

Nominee for Program Chair / Delegate #6 – Jessica Good, GSP, ASHM

Jessica Good is an Industrial Hygienist for LyondellBasell at one of the largest refineries in the United States. Prior to LyondellBasell, she was a HSE Specialist for the Brock Group, a large specialty construction company with fourteen VPP sites. In her role at the Brock Group, she provided Industrial Hygiene support and she also assists in program development. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Industrial Hygiene and Safety from the University of Houston – Clear Lake, and the Graduate Safety Professional certification from the Board of Certified Safety Professionals. Jessica has served as the Newsletter Chair for the Gulf Coast Chapter and in addition previously served as Student Section President at the University of Houston-Clear Lake.

Nominee for Newsletter Chair / Delegate #7 – Doug Rush CSP, CIH, CHMM

Doug is the Principal of Scopus Consultants. He is a hands-on, results driven HSE professional services leader with greater than 30 years of leadership in senior HSE operations and management. He has founded and owned 3 full service HSE consulting firms with a staff of up to 40 fulltime professionals. His experience has been focused in engineering entities and Fortune 500 Companies positioned locally and internationally.

Nominee for Student Liaison / Delegate #8 – Magdy Akladios, PhD, PE, CSP, CPE, CSHM

Dr. Akladios is a Tenured Professor at the University of Houston-Clear Lake (2005-present), before which, he worked at West Virginia University (1996-2005) also as an academician.  Dr. Akladios’ education includes a PhD in Industrial Engineering, a Master’s degree in Industrial Engineering, a Master’s degree in Occupational Health & Safety (Industrial Hygiene), an MBA, and a BS degree in Mechanical Engineering.  In addition, he is also a Board-Certified Safety Professional (CSP), a Professional Engineer (PE), a Certified Professional Ergonomist (CPE), a Certified Safety & Health Manager (CSHM), and a Certified Member of the Egyptian Syndicate for Mechanical Engineers.  He is also a member of the Industrial Engineers’ Honorary Society (Alpha-Pi-Mu), a member of the Human Factors & Ergonomics Society (HFES), and a Senior member of the Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE).

Dr. Akladios is an experienced researcher, a capable educator, and an effective trainer with specific knowledge concerning a wide variety of programs, including occupational safety and health in general and construction industries, ergonomics, and human factors.  He has acted as PI or Co-PI for a number of grants and projects.  He has also been involved in curriculum development, authoring book chapters, professional journal articles, an editor on professional journals, and a variety of other publications.  He served on PhD and Master’s Thesis/Dissertation committees and advised students in the fields of his expertise.  In addition, he has also served as an ABET-Program Evaluator (PEV), and Team Chair.  He is fluent in Arabic and English.

Dr. Akladios is also involved with non-academic credit and continuing-Ed training centers such as College of the Mainland (COM), and has provided consultation services for a number local oil companies including ExxonMobil, ConocoPhillips, BHP Billiton, Humantech, TransCanada, etc., in ergonomics.